are the Same.
Get 30 Years of Expertise Immediately.
Fill in the form below and we will get to work right away.
CPU respects your privacy. We will never sell, rent or share to ANYONE. You can trust us.
Security, both offline and online, should be something that is top of mind for business owners and managers, especially when it comes to interactive platforms like Facebook. While social media sites do generally have the user’s best interest in mind, the developers of these systems do introduce changes from time-to-time. Recently, Facebook announced that they will be eliminating a security feature and this could cause some confusion.
If you have logged into Facebook recently, you may have seen a notice at the top of the News Feed page informing you that, “In a few days we’ll [Facebook] be removing an old Facebook setting called “Who can look up your Timeline by name.” Seeing this message could create a bit of confusion as to whether it is a big deal to take real notice of or not.
What did this setting do?
In previous versions of Facebook, starting from when Timeline was introduced, you could type in individual or company names to bring up their Facebook Timeline. This security setting allowed you to set who could find your Timeline if they entered your name.
Why is Facebook removing it?
Before the more recent changes to Facebook, such as the introduction of the new search feature, the only way to find Facebook users was to search for them. Now, users can be found in numerous ways and the most obvious is by using the new Graph Search (Facebook’s new Search Bar).
Because of the numerous ways to find profiles, and the related security settings, Facebook has announced that they will remove this security setting largely because it is redundant. It should be noted that Facebook isn’t removing the ability to search for users by name, just the setting that controlled who could see your Timeline.
What will happen now?
The biggest change is that now anyone will be able to look up your name and find and view your Timeline on Facebook.
Should I be worried about the removal of this privacy setting?
For businesses, this change is actually a positive one. All users will be able to find your Facebook Page, which is something you want. You are still in control as to who can see individual posts and updates. In general, your Page will continue to be visible, but the chances of seeing increased visits solely due to this development are pretty slim.
That being said, any change to the security settings on Facebook mark a good time to conduct an audit of your Page and Timeline. Log into your Page and press the Lock icon in the top-right. Take a look at security settings, including who can see what content. For many businesses, this should be public – as long as the content posted on the Page is aimed at being openly viewed.
If you are posting pictures or updates that you only want a select group to see, be sure to set the security settings when you create posts. This can be done by pressing the arrow beside Post. It is a good idea to look through your Timeline and ensure posts, updates, Likes, shares, etc. are shared with the appropriate people. You can do this by pressing on the cog in the top left and selecting Account Settings followed by Privacy and Activity Log beside Review all your posts and things you’re tagged in.
Looking to learn more about the role of Facebook in your business? Contact us today to see how we can help.
Published on 19th April 2013 by Jeanne DeWitt.